Skip to content
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 10:02 pm

    I think that Parr shows how ugly and stupid some of life is. I also love his work as it aligns with my own misanthropy and disquiet about mainstream society.

    Of course, such views are seen as elitist and as a consequence, so many commentators think that Parr’s work mocks and reflects on them, and they automatically hate him for it.

    I’d say the reason why there was no one like Parr in 1970s Croatia taking photos that critiqued society there, is because the people (at least the ones I came across there) there are so aggressive and hostile.

    It’s so hard to take photos with a camera that’s been shoved up your backside.

    • October 4, 2010 6:42 pm

      :))

    • October 4, 2010 7:10 pm

      The problem is that a critique of mass society/mainstrem can hardly be not be non-elitist. But than again, I prefer being called elitist than average. The more I think of society as a whole, the more pessimist and elitist I become. Must be the residual Marxism :))

Leave a Reply

