Skip to content

There are two groups of Slovenes (introduction)

August 14, 2010


There are two groups of Slovenes, those that never travel further than the Croatian coast or Austrian ski resorts, and those into whom you will unavoidably bump in the most remote parts of the globe. Seriously. If you are in a god forsaken place and you haven’t seen a single Slovene, that’s only because they are climbing a nearby mountain. Or hill.  I kidd you not – when Indian Ocean Tsunami hit in 2004, there were no Slovene casualties. There were a handful of Slovenes in the heavily hit region, but they were not harmed – they went for a hike.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 1:56 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever met a Slovene outside of Slovenia.

    It’s not hard to understand though, as it’s such a beautiful country. When I was in Ljubljana I loved it so much, I felt as though I could live there. A city that was beautiful and not too big that was cycle friendly with lots of cosy coffee shops.

    Not to mention the easy availability of fresh porcini mushrooms and truffles!

  2. August 19, 2010 3:44 am

    I, too, don’t believe that I have ever bumped into a Slovene. That being said, I don’t normally go around quizzing random people about their countries of origin. ;-)

    I believe you though!

  3. September 24, 2010 1:04 pm

    OK, I’ll post a sequel :)
    But it is true that you notice more your own countrymen than others. Still, beware of Slovenes outside Slovenia

Leave a Reply

