Skip to content

Piu giovane, piu bello

December 18, 2009


A week ago, Grasswire turned three.
I turned 35.
And I seem to have reflected more on the first than on the second issue. OK, there was an occasional flash or two about getting old and all of that but,  wow…  three years…  has it really been that long?

I was never able to sustain writing a diary, no mater at what age I started. Even the paper scrapbook dedicated to bits and pieces of my everyday I started a few years back failed for some reason. But this has been up for three years. Hmmmm, definitely time for a bit of reflection, or at least a new banner :)

Grasswire started as something between a visual diary (click here to see the first post) and a way of keeping my international friends updated with little obscure details that mark my days. For those of you who have been wondering, the name itself means nothing really, apart from allusion to news service and availability of WordPress domains  at the time. I entered the blogosphere through the fascinating world of art and craft blogs and modelled my blog on that of Swedish illustrator Camilla Engman. It took me ages before sidestepping from this format to include more images and more text. And to share not only present but also past stories, which was a beneficial side effect of following the inspiring blogs All the dumb things and Fox and Maus.

Lately, Grasswire has again been more about the photographs from the present as I’m working and reworking my thesis, but this should be over in a month or so. So three years later, I find myself on a verge of another tipping point, awaiting the start of a new life of which I know only that it will be fun. Why wouldn’t it be, I have three great companions for the road ahead. And f course you, my readers :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 5:55 am

    Congratulations and bravo for persevering for so long.

    Blogs are funny things and I know I have had mixed feeling about mine over the years, so I can imagine that you also have similar feelings about yours.

    Lately I’ve been thinking that having a blog has helped me be more creative as it gives me a reason to create. A way, if you will, to get the ideas out of my head and out into the world….. even if it is a virtual one.

Leave a Reply

