Skip to content

Computers and stuff

May 16, 2009

pisalni-stroj
Four weeks, new disc, motherboard, drivers and updates later, it looks like my computer is back and working. Knock knock. During the blissed hour of T’s afternoon nap, I skimmed over an interview with Svetlana Makarovič, one of more famous, one could even say notorious,  Slovene poets and authors. A woman of firm stands. And ironically came across the following section. Q: Do you still use the typewriter? A: Yes, I do. I don’t drive a car nor own a computer and I occasionally find it very challenging t change the ribbon on my typewriter. But it is a splendid one. You can smack (on) it really nice. It does not have that soft, fluffy keyboard of a computer. /…/ I don’t have a microwave. Nor a computer. Nor a husband.
When we get a bigger place, I hope I will have enough space to fitmy mother’s sleek green 1970’s Olivetti. And bang on it from time to time, just for the sound of it. When I went to university in 1993, I still tagged it along with me. A year latter, I got my first email and by summer, you would find me sending ASCI-code beer bottles to our former Fulbright professor, an early 1990’s equivalent of Facebook’s Booze mail.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 12:10 am

    I like the woman! Great sense of humor! I guess having no husband really simplifies life a lot. Hee! Hee!

  2. May 17, 2009 12:30 am

    She sounds like an ex-girlfriend of mine. I can understand liking the sound of the typewriter but they are nowhere as versitile and easy to use.

    I just love being able to copy and paste.

  3. May 18, 2009 9:13 pm

    Razz – I wouldn’t exchange the copy-paste capability either but just for the old times sake, a bang or two would be nice.
    Actually, I came pretty close to it today as I brought to life a very very old keyboard (probably some 15 years or so). Had to buy two adapters to plug it into USB but it works!! And most of all, it “clicks”. Would actually hate to be in an office full of these but with only me banging away the late night hours, it is perfect :))

Leave a Reply

