Skip to content

Self praise, a little bit of

March 8, 2009

img_4680
It was a busy week but also one that had some tangible outcomes. In paper form, as usual. The first issue of Fotografija that the new editorial board put together was flipped over some beers (with my piece on press/war photography) and a surprise of World Literature Today ambushed me from my faculty mailbox with a little smiley posted on the cover that my dear friend stuck onto it. Two surprises – one was that they have moved to full colour (I spent quite some time making additional BW versions of the photos I offered). The other was designer’s “intervention”. It can be so refreshing to see your work through other people’s eyes. For once, I never noticed how the tones of the two photos almost match, and I would never place (let alone splice) the two together since one is from up north (Estonia) and the other from south (Croatia). Nice work. If you stumble upon a copy of WLT, Ales’s essay is also worth reading – it expresses his credo in more than one way.

Look what they've done to my pics

Look what they've done to my pics

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 2:58 am

    Congratulations!

    Most photographers are dissappointed when they see their shots printed. Looks like you got lucky.

  2. Merleyn permalink
    May 29, 2009 4:56 pm

    I’m pleased to read your positive response to the treatment of your photos (which I created). It’s not everyday that we get feedback from the actual artist who created the beautiful images we publish, especially the positive kind. Thanks for sharing your photos with us, and this post with your readers!

Leave a Reply

