Skip to content

Picturesque (a sucker for)

February 26, 2009

img_4551
I admit, I’m a sucker for old towns and if they have a Mediterranean feel to it, things get pretty irresistible. I guess this is an affection that can only be overcome by some sort of acquisition. A little house and/or a plot of land. At least that is what I hope for in some undefined mid-term future.  To quote Humprey Bogart from Casablanca : “Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon…”

Ahh, washed out but still vibrant - but I wonder if I'd like the colour when it was new.

Ahh, washed out but still vibrant - but I wonder if I'd like the colour when it was new.

But buying is entirely different from just looking. Architecture and economy tend to override the gastronomy of the eye and the picturesque dilapidated facades inevitably end up demystified as indicators of dampness and structural defectiveness. But this should be sweet worries if we ever get that far. For now, the dilapidated walls and washout facades simply remain incredibly photogenic.

Monochrome - kind of like that too

Monochrome - kind of like that too

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 6:07 pm

    I have the same feelings towards Mediterranean villages. They exude charm and warmth and douceur de vivre… My mother owns a house in a tiny island in South of France and it has been in the family for more than 60 years. With this economy, she is going to be forced to sell it. I can’t tell you how depressed I feel about it but… we were lucky while it lasted. :-)

    • March 2, 2009 9:34 pm

      Well, if we get really lucky over the next few years you might get invited ;)

Leave a Reply

