Skip to content

Lumiere – part deux

February 11, 2009

img_4372
Another speck of photo history. A few years ago I purchased (a rather fancy word for rathr vulgar haggling at the annual photo market in Ljubljana) this pack of photo paper. It was way past expiry date when my grandfather was running around in shorts but the neatly packed sheets of photo paper have never been opened. I’m still toying with the idea of exposing and developing them one day but since I suspect an almost definite failure of this venture, I’m more satisfied with the way things are now, in the convoluted corridors of my imagination.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 7:53 pm

    A photo market? Seems really interesting. What is it like? Is it like a photo flea market or can you find new stuff too?
    I like the “rather vulgar haggling” expression :-)

  2. February 16, 2009 9:37 am

    The first thing I thought about when you mentioned the old paper and you wanted to try it out, was I remember once talking to a fellow student (when I was in art college) and she told me that she had been experimenting with making exposures onto photographic paper with her TV. She’s select a scene on a video and pause it and then turn the TV off (but not the video player) with the rest of the lights in the room and ten she’d put the paper up on the TV screen and turned the TV on and then turned it off. Off course it took a while to figure out how long the expose the paper plus the image was negative. She then used the paper “negative” to make a contact print onto another sheet of paper. I asked to see some of the images and they were quite interesting. Blurry and ghostly.

    So ephemeral, like photographic materials and life itself.

Leave a Reply

