Skip to content

Are you coming, today at six?

January 27, 2009

dscn2777
Went to an ice hockey game yesterday. Haven’t been to one for nearly half of my life. Am not entirely sure, must have been just starting high school. What I do remember though is how we used to try and sneak into the hall. Well, it wasn’t really a hall, just had one concrete stand and a roof, which tells you a lot about how winters were still winters back then. You would have to go unnoticed through the park and then wait for the appropriate moment to run down a fairly steep hill (we would sweare as stones and lumps of frozen earth would make treacherous noise) without attracting the attention of the staff, and then swift behind the concrete structure onto the first row seats. And casually make your way up to the top row. We dropped the stunt act after they borrowed a somewhat nasty looking German shepherd/Alsatian a couple of times or had a policeman stationed at our point of our entry.

Some action caugt with CC's small camera.

Some action caugt with CC's small camera.

Just behind the last row fence on which we used to freeze our behinds, there were old painted metal billboards on which we would bang with our fists whenever our team would score. The noise was impressive, I must say. Apart from that I also remember always coming home too late, loosing my voice to screaming and my mother worrying that I had gotten into “bad company”.
Yesterday was nothing like that – hockey apparently became more civilized (the players were there to play, not just skating around to pick a fight), audience was cultivated (no alcohol sold inside) and there were real seats. In a way, we were also quite lucky with the game – it did have some tense moments plus there was a heap of goals. Not to mention the relaxed drink with the guys afterwards. I skipped the PhD night shift (watched Friends with CC instead), but will have one right now.

As I said, was quite civilised game - no shouting "Referre-thief" and just a coupple of lighters hit the ice.

As I said, was quite civilised game - no shouting "Referre-thief" and just a coupple of lighters hit the ice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 8:54 am

    But I guess in “your times” people didn’t throw mobile phones on the ice as they do it now. ;)

  2. January 29, 2009 12:38 am

    Years ago when I was living in Canada I went to a hockey game for 17 year olds and I was amazed. I’d seen ice hockey before on TV but nothing prepared me for the intensely raw violence and skill I saw demonstrated by those 17 year olds.

    I should have been repulsed but instead I found myself envying them growing up in a country that played such games. As a child, I had to content myself with rugby and soccer but as you know, that’s just not the same.

  3. January 29, 2009 2:30 am

    The first game I attended took place in 1999 when Dallas won the Stanley Cup and involved a bloodbath and four players kicked off the ice.
    I deducted from this game that Dallas would always win and that I could count on a few violent brawls on the ice at each game. Needless to say, I’ve been disappointed ever since.
    Grasswire, I thought you were a GIRL! :-)

Leave a Reply

