Skip to content

Barcelona in magenta

December 3, 2008

OK, promise this is the last in the colour theme section. Magenta was official conference colour, book covers, flags, logos and neck straps, the whole lot.

Pure magenta huh, saving on printing costs are we?

Pure magenta huh, saving on printing costs are we?

I love metros, for me, they are a sign of progress and urbanity. And I mean the real ones, not like the in-famous Belgrade two stop fare. In Ljubljana we are stuck with buses (they even kicked out the quintessential European city transport – the tram – years ago). Though buses can be fun too. On my way to Barcelona I traveled through Gorizia (don’t ask why) where I boarded a bus to train station without a ticket. It was raining and and the driver didn’t seem to mind, a few minutes later, he stopped the bus in the middle of the street, blocking the crossing, opened the door and pointed towards the nearby tobacco shop. As I entered, the tobacconist casually looked at me and asked in English: “One ticket?”. And off we went.
My dear friends F. and K. on the metro to the conference venue, pretending to be interested in the programme while in fact fighting a pretty nasty hangover.

My dear friends F. and K. on the metro to the conference venue, pretending to be interested in the programme while in fact fighting a pretty nasty hangover.

How could a trip go bad with a start like this. It only got more surreal afterwards, as on a train to Treviso an African immigrant sitting next to me was having serious problems/phone conversations with his Italian girlfriend. His Italian was pretty perfect, his every third word being “amore” and every fifth “you don’t understand”. I was sorry that I don’t understand more Italian (four long calls in one hour), like the neatly dressed gentleman with mustaches who suddenly produced a fairly large sandwich wrapped in aluminum foil and flushed it down with a tin of Austrian beer that was neatly tucked in his briefcase, not for a second taking off his eyes from a newspaper he was reading.
What more could one want? Hmm, how about a border guard at the airport swabing my bag, putting the sample into the machine and leaving for a break (or an end of shift) without inspecting it. I just followed his example, closed my bag and left the inspection area. If it wasn’t for its menacing dark side, I’d really move to Italy and simply go native.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 5, 2008 2:16 am

    It’s great people watching on trains.

    The trains in Spain look like they’ve been updated since I was in there way back in 1982.

    Back then the metro in Madrid looked like it had been built by ship builders. Big sheets of plate steel held together with big exposed rivets.

Leave a Reply

