Skip to content

When is Christmas?

November 11, 2008

dscn2439
Which one do you hate more? Christmas decoration being put up early in November (shops and malls over here are starting to sarkle)? Or leftover decoration from last year, like the mistletoe at our local bakery that I featured in one of previous posts (BTW, it’s still up there)? There are quite a few lazy people around here who keep their lights up all year long. Among them you will find people from all walks of life, even local priests who got so attached to their Made in China shooting stars that they just can’t bring themselves to put them down from the church towers. We are however fortunate that they are not pluged in all year long.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 9:30 pm

    Now that I’m an adult (some friends would disagree), the whole Christmas things leaves me cold.

    I don’t put up any Christmas decorations at all. I think that they are a huge tacky waste of the earth’s resources.

  2. November 12, 2008 4:06 pm

    If I were the manager of this store, I do not think I would bother with the X-Mas tree on the left. It is a Charlie Brown Christmas tree. So sad and pathetic looking!
    I go back to Brussels every year for X-Mas, so I personally do not bother with decorations… but my mom always does an incredible job. Well, I make her do it. I like traditions.
    I don’t care much about about shop decorations but I enjoy seeing lights hanging from eaves all over town. It’s festive!

  3. November 29, 2008 4:29 pm

    My wife and I had gotten away from decorations. She usually worked on Christmas (Time and a half, pay!) and so did I (self employed, so normal pay). We just sort of turned into humbugs.

    Then… we had kids. Short Stack will be old enough this year to “get it”. I will be going bananas with the decorations. You can bet safe money that we will have a tree with lights and ornaments. So far as I’m concerned, Christmas is all about the wonder and spectacle. I can’t wait to see it in my son’s eyes.

    Having said that… there needs to be a rule about when the decorations go up and come down. Or at least we need to publicly mock those who are lazy or over ambitious. ;-)

    -Turkish Prawn

Leave a Reply

