Skip to content

Things as they are – a true DIY spirit

August 22, 2008


Dear friends, Ileave you for the weekend with this gem of DIY engineering (fitting of a sun screen in one of Ljubljana’s cafes). After a while, it is a proper “things as they are” pic. I’m not sure of the most suitable caption though, should it be “home-made engineering”, “inventiveness”, “a true DIY spirit” or simply “crap” – the word that was probably muttered by the “engineer” as he was fitting the sun screen, moments before he found this obvious solution to his problem. Admittedly, “crap” is a fairly beautified translation of the original word most probably used…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 1:36 am

    The other day I was making a big planter box out of heavy thick wood for my wife. I bolted the box together with large lag bolts and washers. When ever I make things like that, I always seem to run out of washers and it always shocks me, when I have to buy them, at how much they cost when you buy a few at a time.

    So when I see things like what is in your photo, I can’t help but think about what a waste it is, never mind how slip-shod and slack it is.

  2. September 3, 2008 8:15 am

    I miss the days when this type of hardware was cheap and stores sold it by kilos. Now (at least here) you have to buy the stuff pre-packed and it costs a fortune. Luckily, I still know of two “proper” hardware places…

Leave a Reply

