Skip to content

So it is possible to travel in time

August 18, 2008


This Saturday afternoon I was stunned. And glad in a way. And a bit puzzled. I had discovered that it is possible to travel back in time.
After ten years (gulp), I had returned to the scene of many crimes, to the small sport airfield near my hometown for some grilled meat and beer. Two of my friends from my former life of a gliding pilot became fathers. After initial staggeringly surprised looks and three to four sentence catching-up, it was just like the old days. And I mean exactly like the old days. The same people would spend the evening standing in a couple of fluid circles, talking about flying and latest models of planes (a lot of hand talking there) only to end up (re)telling  the little adventures and anecdotes of fellow pilots. Some of the stories were new but a lot were the same as a decade ago, and some of these were legendary already back then. Driving home was really going back to the furure. After all this time, these guys were still there, sharing the same stories, having the same old arguments and complaining over the same old problems that were still beyond their powers to fix. If one chose to ignore a wrinkle here, a slightly swollen belly there and the dissapearance of nasty pimples or thick hair, nothing much has changed.
When I was leaving, one of the hosts commented that I had probably changed the most. Reflexivelly, I protested. In the darkness of the hangar whose blue doors open with loud metal bangs, it could almost be interpreted as an accusation. However in the light of the day, I think I should have said “yeah, a bit”. And substituted “changed” for “evolved”. A bit.
So, time traveling in neither expensive nor technologically complicated venture. In my car, I can meke ten years back in 45 minutes. Personal use only.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalia permalink
    August 19, 2008 8:47 am

    Oh time travel!

    I do that very often, at least once a year. Like you, I try to turn the slight annoyance of being so different than people who “stayed behind”, the weird feeling of disconnection, into a positive thing, that could even be called an ego-trip.

    And welcome back!

  2. August 26, 2008 1:30 am

    Nice shot of the sky.

    I’ve moved around so much in my life that I don’t really have anywhere to go back to. Only forward, into the future for me.

Leave a Reply

