Skip to content

Seventeen

July 4, 2008


Yesterday we passed a circus that has stirred a lot of interest among Kamnik’s smallest inhabitants. You should have heard Tamara’s excitement when she spotted one of the camels. Apparently, this circus was really made to make people happy regardless of their age – I for instance was thrilled to get an unexpected motif for my photo project on circus posters. Here are some sample images of the project.
   

I am still considering the possibility of doing a bit of hand colouring on the finalised prints, perhaps just a detail here (like on the last thumbnail) or there but at the moment, I’m leaning more toward pure black and white. Any comments on this are appreciated.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 10:59 pm

    Circuses have a strange fascination for me. They are a tatty link with the past. A kind of canvas Colosseum if you will.

    It’s a strange thing to see people risking their lives for other people’s entertainment. It seems only a few steps away from gladiatorial contests.

    Also the idea of whipping animals into submissive behaviours is so barbarically anachronistic.

    I go to circuses about once every 10 years just to come into contact with old notions of entertainment.

  2. July 14, 2008 9:43 pm

    I agree, they are anachronistic . Which I guess is part of its charm.
    Funny part is that now when I think of circus I never think of acts with animals. In my head it’s all clowns, trapeze artists and the like (and yes, I see old Sigmund mumbling into his beard).

    Razzman, would your dislike of animal acts have anything to do with your “love” of tigers? :)

  3. July 14, 2008 9:47 pm

    I read once that (one of) the real attractions of Colosseum shows were not the “sports” but placing bets. And not just on gladiator fights but also on crucifixions, like which one will die first or last…

Leave a Reply

