Skip to content

944

May 22, 2007

cap001-2.jpg

The number is from one of the opening scenes of a partisan film I screened today for my VC class. It was a part of political propaganda section but t is actually a fascinating film, at least from the point of production. And casting. And it made me feel old since most of my students never watched a partisan movie before. Hmm.
Speaking about my students, the end of the semester is a time when I get a lot of odd emails; for example last week – among other stuff – I got a short psychoanalysis of my ego (instead of seminar paper on public opinion) and a phone number of a very busy (female) student asking me to call her.
But instead of giving you her number, you get to see the most frequently re-appearing tank number from the above mentioned film.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bychman permalink
    May 24, 2007 4:35 am

    I am highly intrigued! How do you know that 944 is the most common appearing tank number? What is a VC class(sorry :S I am a high school student, like I said, quite intrigued!)

  2. May 24, 2007 11:05 pm

    The number frequency referred to the Battle on Neretva – the same tank re-appears several times in the film, apparently they didn’t bother to re-number it for different shots. There is a number on other anomalies, like they were using T34 and Shermans as German tanks, even in some close-up shots. Well, that’s what the army had available. VC stands for visual cult.

Leave a Reply

