Skip to content

Ne pas se pencher au dehors

February 13, 2007

stevilke-141.jpg
Today’s number (141) is from my train ticket that you can see on top of waste basket in the train compartment which in Slovenia is a regular place to lay off the ticket once it was stamped. Not in the basket but on top of it, I guess this is a precaution measure that you would not have to go through the garbage if the inspection shows up. Or it could be just another sign of barbarism of my fellow countrymen. Anyway, the title of the post is a sign on the window above the basket that was probably the first contact with French for most of the population of former Yugoslavia. I always wondered if it actually says “do not lean out of window” or if it actually reads like one of those funny hotel signs in English that circulate on the Web.

As for the PBs, I hate neck tags on T shirts: they usually scratch me so much that I wish I had cut them off as soon I geo back from the store. And then I eventually cut them off after the first or third time…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2007 10:29 pm

    Here are two pages of the funny translations of hotel signs I had in mind:
    http://englishenglish.com/english_funny.htm
    http://www.i18nguy.com/hotelsigns.html

  2. March 17, 2013 2:07 am

    Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone

    4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your

    posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

  3. June 11, 2013 2:24 am

    Hello, you used to write wonderful, but the last several
    posts have

    been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings.
    Past several posts are just a little bit out of track!
    come on!

Leave a Reply

